By: Sadiqul Irfan and Myles Sampson

On Sunday, a bombshell report revealed that twelve of the biggest football(soccer) clubs in Europe were planning to create a breakaway league called the European Super League(ESL). The twelve clubs include Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, Chelsea, Tottenham, Arsenal, Barcelona, Atletico Madrid, Real Madrid, Juventus, Inter Milan, and AC Milan.
After this, UEFA came out threatening to ban all the clubs from participating in next season’s Champions League and the clubs’ respective domestic leagues threatened to remove them. FIFA also warned that any players participating in the ESL would be banned from participating in the upcoming World Cup.
Florentino Perez, the President of Real Madrid and chairman of the ESL, said “Football must evolve like everything in life. Football has to adapt to the times we live in now… Everything I do is for the good of football. We created this [ESL] to save football.”
The ESL received major backlash from both the media and the fans. Fans started putting up banners and posters around their stadium saying things like “Created by the poor, stolen by the rich,” “Say no to Super League” and “RIP Football”.
Before today’s Chelsea vs Brighton game, Chelsea fans lined up outside Stamford Bridge protesting the ESL. They went as far as to block the team bus from entering the stadium.
As of today, only three teams remain in the Super League Project. Real Madrid, Barcelona, and Juventus are the teams that remain. All the other teams have backed out because of an enormous amount of backlash towards the Super League.